Tomb Raider Reborn

tr_contestOn March 5, 2013 the latest Tomb Raider game was released, but it didn’t feature the seasoned explorer we’re used to. It’s focuses on the young Lara Croft. It’s about survival and the loss of innocence as she’s thrown into intense situations and pushed beyond physical limits. I was intrigued by the release, but I’m not the type to rush out and buy a game as soon as it comes out, especially with a $60 price tag and not having tried it. Well, I got an opportunity to test it out when I received a free Redbox game code and quite frankly, it rocked! It has all the things I love in a game: powerful storyline, stunning extensive worlds, action, adventure, problem solving and it kept me on the edge of my chair. There was never a dull moment, see for yourself in the trailer below. I didn’t complete Tomb Raider, but it’s now on my buy it list.

What drove me to discuss Tomb Raider was that I stumbled across a design competition held by Square Enix and DeviantART. They challenged artists to develop original artwork depicting Lara Croft’s latest transformation (her rebirth so to speak). The winners received some pretty hefty prizes and the competition was fierce. I was astounded by the amount of entries and the quality of the work submitted. I did not envy the judges, but I did enjoy scrolling through the entries. I’ve included my favorites below. Having played Tomb Raider, I was drawn towards the darker and grittier submissions which I think captured the game’s feel.

tr_battle_marincek

Battle by *tincek-marincek

tr_keevanski

Tomb Raider Reborn Contest by *Keevanski

tr_msweeneyart

Tomb by ~Msweeneyart

tr_archlimit

TombRaiderFinalNoLogo by ~ArchLimit

tr_tinosukae

TombRider Reborn by ~Tinosukae

tr_frankiew

Tomb Raider Lara – The Rescue by ~frankiewCG

tr_chuydeleon

Tomb Raider reborn contest by ~chuyDeleon

tr_dedyone

Lara Tomb Raider Contestby ~Dedyone

tr_griever6260

Lara Reborn by ~Griever6260

tr_benjamindeutscher

Lara Croft Entry by ~benjamindeutscher

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Some really nice artwork, I had no idea they held a competition prior to the release of the new game. Was the winner the one included as the promotional image?
    I just recently started reviewing videogames too. I posted my first a couple of months ago for Dishonored. Check it out on the tabs above my blog if you like.

    Reply
    • I know. I read it when you first posted it. I thought I had clicked the like button. I remember laughing because I had rented the game right before you had reviewed it, but I didn’t get a chance to play it. I own so many games now and barely play them.

      Reply
  1. Who I’m Following on Behance: Zach Bush | Inside My Head

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 312 other followers

