That’s Life & Photography

beetleI had originally intended this post to be called Beetles Everywhere! but as you can see there is barely a Beetle to be found. One day on my way to the library I happened across a car show dedicated to Volkswagen Beetles of all shapes and sizes. There were so many makes and models that I had never seen before and some so customized that I would likely never see again. Needless to say I was excited, but there was a problem. I didn’t have my DSLR. As I walked around admiring the VW goodness I realized that I did have my smart phone, the Motorola Atrix 2. I took pictures, or tried to take pictures as I would with my Nikon and then I was going to turn it into a blog post with a photo gallery discussing the experience and quality of the images.

What happened to the VW photos? That’s what I would like to know! Retrieving the images from my phone was a bit of a nightmare. I tried to download them directly to my computer via USB cable, but the computer wouldn’t recognize my phone. I went to developer options and set my phone to Debug Mode when the USB is connected which makes it easier to copy files. Still no luck. I downloaded the Motorola Helper. Still nothing. I tried emailing the photos to myself, but there were 73 of them. My phone could only upload a few at a time and even then the upload failed.

This is the point where things went from bad to worse. I moved the photos from internal memory to my SD card and they disappeared. I removed the sd card from the phone and inserted it into my computer. There was no trace of the images. My phone also said I had no images. Desperate, I ran the sd card through the file recovery program, Recuva. The only files it found to restore were music files that weren’t lost.

What is left for me to do? Any suggestions? Are my photos gone for good?
The only ones I have are the two that I uploaded to facebook.

This incident did help me realize a few things:

  1. My phone is not a good back-up camera.
  2. I should be carrying my DSLR around with me regularly.
  3. I hadn’t been taking pictures on a consistent basis.

The third point is odd for me because I LOVE taking pictures. To help remedy this I’ve decided to post a photo project every two months. It’s my new goal to find something interesting to document and of course improve my skills. I can tell that my proficiency and reflexes have taken a hit from lack of use. To get back into the swing of things I took pictures around a local bridge (and encountered a really big bird). Please feel free to give feedback!

 

Previous Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. The pelican photograph is great! I wish I had taken that.

    I was probably too busy staying inside and playing Scrabble Online or wasting time some other way haha. I gotta get out and shoot more photos.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 297 other followers

