Take TED to Lunch

tedtalksEven though I worked from home I tried to maintain a schedule as if I was in an office, which included taking lunch breaks. During lunch I would usually start an episode of Law & Order: Special Victims Unit on my tablet. I eat very quickly, so in about 10 minutes I would be done. A typical SVU episode is approximately 40 minutes.  After I finished eating I would go back to work and let it play on next to me. I’ve seen almost every episode so I didn’t really need to pay attention to the screen, it was background noise. A couple weeks ago I decided to do something a bit more productive with my lunch break; I started seeing TED.

“TED.com is a critically acclaimed, award-winning website featuring inspired talks from the world’s leading thinkers and doers.” TEDTalks can stimulate and challenge you mentally, maybe even change the way you think entirely. There is ALWAYS something to learn. Best of all, access to these talks is free. Visit their website, download talks from iTunes, or go to their YouTube page. There are also apps available, but I chose to watch them through Netflix. Bonus: TEDTalks are much shorter than a SVU episode. I’m sharing a few of my favorites so far with you.

If you only have time to watch one of my recommendations, this would be it. Psychologist Shawn Achor humorously reveals his theory on being happy. “We’ve pushed happiness over the cognitive horizon as a society. That’s because we think we have to be successful then we’ll be happier, but the real problem is our brains work in the opposite order.”

 

 

As a society we are suffering from “Choice Overload” when really “Less is More.” Sheena Iyengar explains.

 

 

Okay don’t laugh. I thought Terry Moore might be speaking metaphorically when I initially clicked, but he actually teaches you how to tie a shoe. I had been doing it all wrong.

 

If you like what you’ve heard, I encourage you to take TED to lunch or dinner or brunch. Have TED meet all your friends (parents too).

 

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. I will definitely give it a try. It’s always enlightening to hear really smart, successful people talk about their area of expertise, or even some life lessons that have taught them a great deal.
    Going to TED right now…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 312 other followers

