Design Inspiration: Media Militia

I StumbledUpon this blog and while searching through it I was immediately impressed and inspired. Media Militia is loaded with quality resources like Tutorials and Freebies. Download high grade textures, brushes, vectors, and images, even a few abstract renders. They encourage personal and commercial use. I felt like a kid in a candy store! The content is pretty straightforward, so the posts are easy to read through. I also found them extremely informative; within ten minutes I learned 3 new techniques (although an expert I am not).

Also, be inspired by their inspiration. Media Militia has a section dedicated to work they find stimulating. You can follow them on Twitter (if that’s your thing), subscribe to their feed (my thing) or even submit your own work.  Media Militia gets 2 thumbs up. Check it out!

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Hey I saw your blog on … I think it’s “blog catalog” maybe? haha, anyways… great posts about graphic design. I’m learning, too… I LOVE that you’re on colourlovers… heading over there in a minute to follow you! 🙂 Oh and that tutorial for typography– I did a similar one, you can see it on my Flickr. I’ll be on yours in a sec, too. It’s not common to find hopeful designers like me that seem to have the same tastes. How did you make your website? I’m taking a dreamweaver class right now… and YUCK! I hate it. 🙂 Oh well, it’s all part of the journey, eh? Oh and hey … I love how your site has all those lines & right angles. It reminds me of De Stijl… one of my favorite art forms.

    Reply
    • Hey,
      Thanks for visiting my blog/website and adding me on Flick’r. I looked through your blog and flick’r and I love your work! I appreciate seeing your class assignments, since I didn’t go to school for graphic design, I always wondered what the work was like. What are some of the other things you have to do?

      For my website, I only used Dreamweaver at the very end. I did most of it in Flash. Some features in Dreamweaver are convenient, but I like to be able to hard code stuff or at least understand what dreamweaver did. I’m teaching myself CSS right now and my friends were nice enough to give me some of their work to make practice websites with.

      Thanks again and I’ll definitely keep checking your stuff!

      Reply
      • Well… I AM going for graphic design… but I’m not going to a design school unfortunately, so I too would like to see how a REAL design school would do it. I mean, we don’t even use Macs at school. Hate that.

        Thanks for the kinds words on my designs! I’ve got a ways to go, but I’m learning as much as I can right now.

        That’s one thing I have yet to figure out – FLASH. I have it of course, but never knew you could make websites on it! Is it more difficult than Dreamweaver?

        Reply
        • To me, Flash is more difficult than Dreamweaver, but if you’re already familiar with coding languages then it makes it easier to learn Actionscript 2.0/3.0. I was lucky in that I got a lot of one on one help in Flash from my last 2 professors. If you want to check out Flash, a really good site with tutorials is:
          http://www.kirupa.com/developer/flash/index.htm
          Their examples cover a lot of ground.

          There’s an upside and downside to using Flash though. For what I wanted for my website, it made sense to me to use it. If you’re interested, here’s an article about the pros and cons:
          http://webdesign.about.com/od/flash/i/flash_pros_cons.htm

          Reply

Leave a Reply

