Beachin’ It with the Samsung TL205

So I’ve been living in Florida for almost a year now, but I’ve only just recently gotten another compact digital camera. It’s a Samsung TL205. I must say I was a little skeptical before purchasing it. Samsung isn’t my camera ideal brand, I prefer Canon (I’m still mourning the loss of my Digital Elph SD1000, but that’s another story). However, I am slowly falling in love with this device. It’s very slim and lightweight, (easy to put in your purse) but I would recommend getting a case, because it does also feel fragile.

Things I love about my TL205:

  • wide range of photo sizes (from small to poster)
  • various photo styles (my favs. are Retro, Vivid, and Classic)
  • decent battery life. I usually use it for 2 or more events before it dies.
  • great image/video quality

Things I’m not too fond of:

  • macro is finicky. Sometimes I have to work too hard to get it to focus on the right thing.
  • technical glitches. Could be just my model, but sometimes when I press the shutter the scrolling menu pops up instead, preventing me from taking the picture
  • manual setting is too time consuming It’s easier to just use Auto (you’re probably thinking duh! but there are times when I like to have more control over my image)
  • mine did not come with the removable battery charger. I would prefer not to plug the whole camera into an outlet, in case of a short.

Of course having a camera is only part of the equation of producing a great picture. With no technique/vision or any awareness of photographic concepts, you can produce duds with even the most hi-tech equipment. That’s why I find it important to practice, read materials from professionals in the field, look at the work at others, and maybe even take a class if you can afford it (right now the internet/library is my classroom). The other day I picked up The Creative Photography Handbook by Lee Frost. It is easy to read, gets straight to the point, includes excellent photographic examples, and showed me a whole bunch of new techniques. It’s helping me get better acquainted with my TL205.

Below are some pictures I’ve taken on trips to the beach with the TL205. Click here for the full gallery. Like or don’t like what you see? Leave a comment.

Technorati Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. nanda

     /  February 17, 2011

    Looks pretty good for me. How is the technique to take pictures with a blur background? I’m gonna buy this camera and would like to try the same effect on my pictures. Thank you.

    Reply
    • I usually get that effect when I take pictures in the macro mode (setting with the flower). It focuses on the finer details of the subject and tends to blur everything else out. Here is an article that gives a deeper explanation:
      http://www.ephotozine.com/article/using-your-digital-camera-s-macro-mode-4848

      Like I said above, I have had problems with this camera in macro to focus on what I want. The link gives you some tips, but I would also suggest getting a feel by photographing stationary objects first.

      I hope this answers your question. Thanks for visiting my blog!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

