Crazy Cool Pumpkin Carvings

Mies van der Rohe

I know Halloween has come and gone and Thanksgiving is fast approaching, but I couldn’t pass up sharing these intricate pieces of almost edible art. For the very first time I carved a pumpkin this year, so I have a tiny idea of the work involved. Needless to say, my pumpkin wasn’t quite as detailed as those of Kyle May (Arahams-May) and Julia van den Hout (Steven Holl Architects). They paid homage to their favorite architects by hand carving their figures into “Arch-O-Lanterns”. Artistically, my favorite is Mies van der Rohe (not because I went to the school of Mies, IIT). Architecturally though, I will have to go with Herzog & de Meuron. Here’s the Arch-o-lantern slide-show.

If you’re looking for something even more extreme then feast your eyes on the carvings of Scott Cummins in Perryton, Texas. He’s a junior high art teacher that sculpts pumpkins in his free time for fun and for our viewing pleasure. Check out his gallery on Pumpkin Gutter. He has even provided a detailed tutorial explaining the process.

Can you guess which pumpkin below is the one I carved with my cousin? Hint: It’s the snaggle-toothed cat.

Technorati Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

