Surfscape Contemporary Dance Theatre

Some of the best surprises in life are free. On March 24, 2012 I got a visual treat from the Surfscape Contemporary Dance Theatre (SCDT) at the Deltona Library. They had a free show sponsored by Volusia County Libraries and the City of Deltona. To be honest, I had no idea what to expect, but I thought this would be a great event to attend and bring my teenage cousins. Simply put, it was thoroughly entertaining.  The dancers were graceful, powerful, and multidimensional. They performed to pieces of various styles and storylines and they fully committed to the plots, facial features and all.

There wasn’t a dance that I didn’t love but one of my favorites was actually performed to classical music.  The concept was quirky. A male and a female are riding in an elevator dressed for work (quite prim and proper), but when the elevator music comes on they transform into dancing machines. I found myself laughing out loud to music that’s usually very serious. Laughter could be heard throughout the entire show and then there were the moments of mesmerized silence viewing beauty in motion. I was torn between taking pictures and simply just sitting and watching. Below are some shots from that night  (I still need to work on how to capture motion). It was a great show. I loved it and so did my cousins. I would like to see them again. They have an upcoming show in Daytona in May. I’ll provide an update when I get more info.

Update: Surfscape is offering a performance called Tribute. There will be 3 showings.
May 4, 2012 at 7:30 pm
May 5, 2012 at 4:00 pm
May 5, 2012 at 7:30 pm
Mary Mcleod Bethune Performing Arts Center
Daytona Beach, Fl

I just got my ticket online from Ticketmaster. Prices range from $21 – $28. I’m excited!

A little about the company: Surfscape is a non-profit professional modern dance company founded in 2005 by Rachael Leonard and Kristin Polizzi. Both Art Directors, they work together to choreograph all the innovative dances. SCDT is based in Volusia County, but tour nationally. Their dancers are from all over the United States and are paid for all performances, rehearsals, and community outreach work. They put on full scale concert events and offer demonstrations, master classes, open rehearsals, intensives, and more. SCDT aims to bring dance to the masses through performance and education, regardless of age, race, or economic status. Learn more about Surfscape Dance Theatre: visit their official site.

Want even more of SCDT? Check out their photos on facebook.
One song they danced to that I loved was Nina Simone’s Sea Lion Woman. Although, I was more familiar with the version by Feist.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

