Try Something New for 30 Days

Are you in fact stuck, tired of what you usually do, or just plain bored? Then watch this TEDTalk video by Google engineer Matt Cutts. For those of you who are unable to, I’ve included his opening lines below the video.

“A few years ago, I felt like I was stuck in a rut, so I decided to follow in the footsteps of the great American philosopher, Morgan Spurlock, and try something new for 30 days. The idea is actually pretty simple. Think about something you’ve always wanted to add to your life and try it for the next 30 days. It turns out, 30 days is just about the right amount of time to add a new habit or subtract a habit (like watching the news) from your life.” – Matt Cutts

Actually I think this is a good idea in general, no need to be experiencing a mental block. Recently I started my life list. It’s a book where I write down all the things I would like to do before I croak. Some goals are one time deals like purchase the complete season of Leverage when the series ends, while other goals like learn to play Chopin’s Minute Waltz on the piano may take some time. Trying something new for 30 days is a great motivator to knock some things off that list.

Why I recommend trying this. Here are some reasons Matt mentioned:

  • Time becomes more memorable. Ever find yourself wondering what you did two days ago, but it was just too mundane to recall? Chances are you will remember that ninth day when you successfully stood up for more than 60 seconds on your surfboard.
  • Self confidence grows with the completion and elevation of each challenge.
  • Small sustainable changes are more likely to stick. You could possibly pick up some more good habits.

Here are some of my reasons:

  • Increased motivation to learn more. When you try something new, by default you learn something new. Expanding your knowledge base can’t hurt (well in some cases it could, but I prefer to dwell on the positive).
  • Expands social networks/interaction. You’ll have the potential to meet new people that share your interests or make deeper connections with people you already know.
  • Discovery of new resources. Decided to give up meat (which I did for 40 days)? Maybe you’ll take notice of that vegetarian restaurant that’s a block away.

For those of you that are list-less or are looking for new goals check out 30 day challenges by Good.is. This month’s challenge is making your own meals and you can sign-up to receive their daily email. In addition you can find out what else Matt Cutts has been up to on his blog.

Let’s see. I choose from my list for my first 30 day challenge to improve my Spanish. I love the language and it would add to my resumé. My local library has a deal with Mango Languages that card holders can use their software free. What would your 30 day challenges be? Have you already been doing this? Let me know in the comment box below!

P.S. – I apologize for the lack of posts this past month. Life’s gotten crazy busy, but if you want to see a sample of what I’ve been up to check out my portfolio. Also I have an idea in mind for May’s free wallpaper, so check back soon.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

