An Award Winning 100th Post

According to WordPress this will be my 100th post. Whoo hoo! Cheers to me! So I decided to celebrate by responding to a blogging award I received earlier in the year by my dear friend and fellow blogger Niels, of The Blog of Big Ideas. By the way, he’s also a fantastic wedding date. Anyway, he passed on the 7×7 Link Award. Here are the rules:

Rule # 1: tell everyone something that no one else knows about you

Rule # 2: Link to one of the posts that you personally think best fits the following categories: Most Beautiful Piece, Most Helpful Piece, Most Popular Piece, Most Controversial Piece, Most Surprisingly Successful Piece, Most Underrated Piece and Most Pride-Worthy Piece.

Rule # 3: Pass this award on to seven other bloggers

Here it goes:
Rule #1: I recently admitted to myself that I actually enjoy writing. I know it sounds ridiculous coming from a blogger, but growing up I couldn’t stand writing or English for that matter. Looking back, I probably did not like the idea of being forced to write. I found a lot of the topics lackluster, so in response I would create the weirdest/wildest story I could think of. I still have a few of the essays I wrote in high school. I’m surprised my teachers didn’t have me talk to a psychologist. Now that I write about topics that interest me, I find it quite enjoyable. Another fact – my mom taught English Language & Literature for over 40 years.

Rule #2:
Most Beautiful Piece: I’ll take the easy route and say it’s my free wallpaper post called Beauty.

Most Helpful Piece: It’s a humorous yet insightful video I shared about the creative process as told by Monty Python’s John Cleese. He discusses the advantages of closed vs. open frame of mind, steps to nurture creativity, not being afraid to explore “what if” and more. I think it’s 36 minutes well worth your time – Work Hard. Play Harder.

Most Popular Piece/Most Surprisingly Successful Piece: My post I’m Failing (and why that isn’t so bad) spans two categories because: 1. It was featured on WordPress’s Freshly Pressed making it my most popular piece with thousands of views. 2. It was surprising to me because it’s one of the most personal posts I’ve written and I didn’t expect it to be popular. I was simply documenting the moment when I finally admitted that I needed to leave architecture behind to pursue graphic design. I had plans, but there are so many things in life that you can’t prepare for. It’s your response to those surprises that matters. Some dreams fail. Fine. Embrace it and dream BIGGER.

Most Controversial Piece: I wouldn’t say that my posts push boundaries. My intention is to spark positive interest rather than arguments. Here’s my most “controversial” post: Student’s Teach Themselves? That’s Crazy!

Most Underrated Piece: I love graffiti, but it can carry such a negative connotation. Here I highlight some good things. You Say Vandalism, I Say Art.

Most Pride-Worthy Piece: I have a problem sometimes with procrastination and the common answer I get is to “make a schedule”. However, I can’t stand every minute being micro-managed. So after some thought I came up with my own solution/resource called the “Do It NOW List.” If you think about it, schedules and to-do lists give you more things to do later, which doesn’t help a procrastinator. It needs to be done now. So if it’s not something that can be accomplished at that moment, don’t put it on the list. This idea has helped me adopt the mindset of get it done now and I complete much more tasks. Read My Cure for Procrastination

Rule #3:
Passing the torch. Here are seven bloggers that I follow and whose work I admire. So show them some love and check out their sites:
A Blog Related to Art – known to me by the name Cavepainter, Artist/Graphic Designer

Dina Thanki Blog – Dina Thanki, Graphic Designer & Illustrator

Doug James Photography – Doug James, Photographer

Erica Lee Style – Erica Lee, Photographer

Joy Vi Collections – Joy Vi, Fashion Designer

JUST™ Creative – Jacob Cass, Graphic/Web Designer

Travel with Kat: Discovering New Countries, Cultures, & Cuisines – Kat, A Woman of Many Talents

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Thanks a lot 🙂

    I checked out those other blogs and they all seem very professional looking. Travel with Kat looks really cool.

    Reply
  2. Thank you so much, it really was a lovely surprise!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

